## Texas Tech University Faculty Senate

## **Organization**

Section 1. The Faculty Senate is composed of senators representing the voting faculty of Texas Tech University. The voting faculty consists of all persons under full-time contract who have completed a residence of one year at this University and who are tenured or, in the case of librarians and archivists are on continuing appointment or who hold appointments that make them eligible for tenure or continuing appointment.

Section 2. The voting faculty of each college and school, and the librarians and archivists of the University Library and the Southwest Collection excluding the Graduate School, elect one senator for each twenty voting faculty members or fraction thereof but not fewer than two senators. The voting faculty of the University elects nine additional senators at-large. The senate is currently comprised of 72 senators.

## **Responsibilities**

Section 1. The Faculty Senate acts on behalf of the faculty and serves as an advisory body to the President of the University and may consider all matters of university concern.

Section 2. Any member of the University community may bring a matter of university concern to the attention of the Senate.

Section 3. The Senate may make recommendations to the President of the University concerning the academic functions of the University, academic freedom and other matters pertaining to the welfare of the University, particularly those of special interest to the faculty.

## 2012-2013 Officers

President: Daniel Nathan, Arts & Science-Philosophy, Phone 742-0373 ext 340, daniel.nathan@ttu.edu

Vice President: Sam Bradley, Mass Communications, Phone 742-3385, sam.bradley@ttu.edu

Secretary: Carrye Syma, Library, Phone 742-2236 ext 281, carrye.syma@ttu.edu

Office Coordinator: Patty Gisch, Faculty Senate's office is located in room 126, Doak Hall, Phone 742-3656, patty.gisch@ttu.edu

For more information on the Faculty Senate, view meeting times, minutes, committee reports or resolutions visit our webpage: http.www.ttu.edu/~senate or our email address is <a href="mailto:Faculty.Senate@ttu.edu">Faculty.Senate@ttu.edu</a> for any questions.